Posted by: hoppybottoms | May 31, 2011

Sunday Dinner…and Dessert.

As I have mentioned, The Kind Diet, has been the inspiration for me changing the way I eat. Today, I decided that I wanted to try some new recipes, in a different vegan cookbook. Of course, as always, when I went to the bookstore (my fifth favorite thing after food, weddings, Steve, and Cricket – not necessarily in that order), I couldn’t make a decision about which book to buy…so I bought 3.

Skinny Bitch in the Kitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin

The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions by Celine Steen and Joni Marie Newman

babycakes Covers the Classics by Erin McKenna…I told you I love baked goods, so this was imperative. I also have an aunt who has to eat a completely gluten-free diet, and the recipes in this book are vegan AND gluten free. Yay for everyone!

By the time I got to the grocery store and made it home to start on some recipes I was exhausted, so I didn’t do nearly as much as I wanted.

I have decided to rate the recipes out of 5.

Dinner:

Dijon Portobello Steaks from The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions by Celine Steen and Joni Marie Newman 2.5/5

Just to start, I don’t LOVE mushrooms, but, I do like to try new things, AND I do think that they are an important part of a varied vegan diet, so I decided to try them. It didn’t hurt that the recipe only had four main ingredients (Dijon Mustard, Balsamic Vinegar, Agave Nectar, and Portobello Mushrooms) and it was inexpensive.

Now, I am pretty sure I didn’t use the right kind of mustard, because my eye was twitching while I was eating. That is definitely my fault! I cooked the mushrooms on my George Foreman grill, because I don’t have a real grill and I think had I made the marinade correctly this probably would have been a 3.5/5 recipe. For people who like mushrooms (and who know how to cook better than I do), this is a good, quick, filling dinner.

Dessert:

Chocolate Chip Cookies from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin

4.5/5

These cookies were DELICIOUS!

I substituted Safflower Oil for Coconut oil, because I couldn’t find the Coconut Oil at the grocery store (I know…so lazy- but I guarantee I am not lazy when I plan events or cook for guests!) I don’t know if they taste exactly like they are intended because I substitued the oil, but they are DARN GOOD! My husband who is not vegetarian or vegan likes them and he is a super picky eater.

That was my Sunday…stay tuned for more food and fun event stories!

Responses

  1. […] of the first recipes I tried was Dijon Portobello Steaks. They were OK, I didn’t quite get the recipe right but I was happy to try something […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

