Posted by: hoppybottoms | June 3, 2011

Vegin’ Out Non-Fiction Style: Summer Reading Wishlist

1. The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun – Gretchen Rubin

 

I had just about finished this book list and I was a little sad that I didn’t have something that wasn’t completely about food. But wait! The Happiness Project. I keep passing it in the bookstore. My Barnes and Noble account always seems to think “I might also like…” this, and honestly I am not going to get very far in changing my lifestyle if I can’t first figure out how to make a project out of being happy. Part of me wanted to put this in the middle of my list, so I could take a break from all the food talk, but I have been wanting to read it for too long to wait.

2. Vegan Freak: Being Vegan in a Non-Vegan World– Bob Torres, Jenna Torres

Vegan Freak: Being Vegan in a Non-Vegan World

 I am interested, because according to the reviews it seems as though this book may be helpful in dealing with the attitudes of those who aren’t vegan. However, I may have to prepare myself to ignore some Soap boxing, which a lot of the reviewers complained about in this book. I NEVER, want to come across as someone who feels superior to non-vegans. I hate that. I guess we will see how I feel after I read it.

3. Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous! – Rory Freedman, Kim Barnouin

I have the cookbook, but I definitely want to read the book-book this summer. I have heard good things. I am not necessarily so concerned with being”skinny,” but I believe they take the “don’t eat dairy so you can be healthy” angle. I’m cool with that.

4. The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-term Health – T. Colin Campbell, Thomas M. Campbell II    

This study is cited and quoted in everything I read about maintaining a dairy-free diet/plant-based diet. I feel like there is no way I can’t read it and still call myself educated about food and diet. They came up with scientific proof that milk can actually CAUSE Osteoporosis, the OPPOSITE of what the dairy industry and government will tell you. I imagine though, that I may have to dig my way out of a lot of scientific mumbo jumbo to get through it. I’ll let you know…

5. Naturally Thin: Unleash Your SkinnyGirl and Free Yourself from a Lifetime of Dieting – Bethenny Frankel 

This book was recommended by our friend Marisa (See Vegan Date Night in NYC post). It changed the way she eats (and she looks fabulous!), and as I mentioned she is an educated consumer, so I am going to try this book out.

6. My Lobotomy – Howard Dully

I found a non-food book for the middle of my list! This book was always something I wanted to read. But as I mentioned in a previous comment in another post, my Dad didn’t like the name of it, so he didn’t get it for me off of my book wishlist. Then, I sorta forgot about it. After posting my non-fiction book review my blog friend, Melissa (See Veggie Fitness blog) recommended it. I put it here in the middle, because it isn’t about food and I assume I will need a break from those books. Oh yea, and the book is about a man who was lobotomized when he was a kid. Crazy, huh?

7. The Food Revolution: How Your Diet Can Help Save Your Life and Our World – John Robbins

The book seems pretty genius. The heir to the Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream chain telling you NOT to eat ice cream…can’t ignore that.

8. A Place of Yes: 10 Rules for Getting Everything You Want Out of Life – Bethenny Frankel

This is Bethenny’s new book. I figure if I like Naturally Thin, then I will read this one. But, if I am not pleased with the first read I am going to skip this.

9. In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto – Michael Pollan

Michael Pollan wrote The Omnivores Dilemma but I hear that book is a little lengthy and heavy. I am going to try this one out and see how it goes.

That concludes my Summer Non-Fiction Reading List; Ambitious for someone who doesn’t care for non-fiction. Now, the only question is do I get these books on my Kindle to be friendly to the trees, or do I buy them paperback so I can lend them out when I am done…

Responses

  1. […] have just started The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin (the first book on my summer non-fiction reading list post). According to my Kindle, I have completed reading 21% of the book and already, I feel motivated […]

  2. […] remembered it at the last-minute when I was writing up my summer reading wish list and I decided to put it at the top because I have been meaning to read it for such a long […]

  3. […] Review:Throw Out Fifty Things, Gail Blanke This book was not on my summer reading list. I came across it on an adventure to the library, and feeling inspired to make changes in my life […]

  4. […] speed at which I am going through my summer reading wish list is disappointing. It has been slow for a few reasons: 1) I have 3 jobs that take up my time 2) I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

