Posted by: hoppybottoms | June 7, 2011

Egg-cellent, Egg-Free, Egg Salad!

Being exhausted as I always am on Monday’s, I was just going to grab something out of the freezer. But then, I noticed a little bookmark in my Alicia Silverstone, Kind Diet book; I had marked off Egg Salad Sandwiches. I reviewed the recipe, and I actually had ALL of the ingredients! I usually don’t have all the ingredients when I PLAN to make something.  I have been wanting to try this recipe, particularly because it resembles a food that I enjoyed, it is simple, and it is a great grab-and-go item for lunch.

I gathered my ingredients and got to work…

First step was mashing the tofu…fun!

Mashed Tofu

Then I added the rest of the ingredients, just some seasonings, soy sauce, celery, onion, and vegan mayo and mixed it together.

Celery and Onion

 

I put it on some toasted bread…and YUM!

Egg Salad on Toasted Bread

 

It has a very similar texture to egg salad but not identical. The vegan mayo really gives it the taste of egg salad. I added some nutritional yeast in to get some B12 and add a little texture. I enjoyed it and will be eating it for lunch for the next two days, which is awesome, since it took me about 5 minutes to make. I give this a 4.5/5 on the cookbook recipe rating scale.

Thanks, Alicia!alicia-silverstone-the-kind-diet

Leave a Reply

Categories

