Posted by: hoppybottoms | June 9, 2011

Breakfast of Champions: Raw Oatmeal

A few weeks ago, before I made my official transition into Veganism, I was looking for some ideas for a quick breakfast. I love oatmeal, but Quaker Instant Oatmeal (as yummy as it is) tends to have a lot of sugar and carbs. The plain oatmeal isn’t as bad for you, but it does not really have a great taste.

As I scoured through the nutritional labels of each oatmeal box at Stop and Shop (FYI not all oatmeal is Vegan) I came across a slender little box, BetterOats “muffins” oatmeal. It is whole grain and is made with REAL blueberries. It was delicious. It is instant, you add water and then make it in the microwave (the instructions are very strict about that!). And, as my good friend Justine would say, in two minutes, you have yummy goodness.

Blueberry

    <!–

  • –>

  • Thick and hearty texture
  • Made with real blueberries
  • 30 grams of whole grains per serving
  • 220 mg of ALA Omega-3 per serving
  • Excellent source of antioxidant vitamins A & E
  • Good source of Fiber
 
Now that I am vegan, and I am trying very hard to incorporate items into my diet that have real nutritional value, I have moved over to the BetterOats Raw Oatmeal. It is organic, it has Flax seeds (they are visible in the oatmeal),  and it is whole grain. Now, I do not eat it plain, I add fruit (Blueberries and/or strawberries), raisins, or Craisins. However, I like that it is packed with fiber, and whole grains, and since I add the other ingredients, I know exactly where everything is coming from. It is quick, delicious and healthy. Even if you aren’t vegan, you should consider moving to a healthy oatmeal like BetterOats.

  • USDA Organic
  • 41 grams of whole grains per serving
  • 200 mg of ALA Omega-3 per serving
  • Organic whole grains: Oats, Barley, Quinoa, Rye, Wheat
  • Organic whole flaxseeds
  • Good source of Fiber

 

Another reason I like BetterOats is because they are conscious about the environment. The package is very slender, and you can tell they made sure to use as little material as possible. Also, it is easier to store than the big boxes and wide packets that other instant oatmeal companies use.

Check out their website:

BetterOats

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

