Posted by: hoppybottoms | June 12, 2011

Wild Ginger: Good Vegan Eats in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

I recently dined at Wild Ginger, a vegan restaurant in Williamsburg, with my good friend Sara (you met her in my Picnic Lunch in Central Park Blog).

 

The atmosphere was lovely, we sat a table that was next to the street (not directly on the street, though).

The menu had SO MANY options; Mostly, asian food, but they all sounded like delicious choices. We started with Scallion pancakes that were to die for, just so good.

Scallion pancakes...too good not to eat.

For our meals:  I went with Pineapple Fried Rice, Sara recommended it. Sara, had some delicious looking salad, that had avocado and tofu cheese that she could not stop raving about.

Sara's Salad with tofu cheese and avocado

My pineapple fried rice was delicious. It may have been a little salty BUT I finished it all, and enjoyed every bite.

Pineapple Fried Rice. A very big portion, and I ate it all!

 

Sara...such a good sport for letting me take pictures of her while she eats!

 

Shoving pineapple fried rice into my mouth...yum!

 

Sara mentioned that the desserts at Wild Ginger were really good. I was full, and I was also planning on trying some of Sara’s homemade sorbet when I got back to her apartment, so I got my dessert to go. There were some really delicious choices, but I went with the Pumpkin Cheesecake. I had NO idea what I was in for when I ate it several hours later… People who think that they can’t get good food without dairy are just crazy; the vegan pumpkin cheesecake was the best vegan food I have had since I started this diet. Thank goodness, I don’t live anywhere near that place. I would eat it everyday. It had some whipped cream type topping on it that I scraped off, I didn’t want it and I didn’t care for the little bit I tasted. The cheesecake was good all by itself.

Pumpkin Cheesecake

 

Sara is going away to Germany for 6 weeks. As soon as she returns, I plan on going back for more, Wild Ginger!!

Check them out…

Wild Ginger

Responses

  1. MMM. I love me so Wild Ginger!!! I have yet to make it to their new joint in BK but I have done the one in Lower Manhattan a couple of times and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.


Leave a Reply

Categories

