Posted by: hoppybottoms | July 4, 2011

Monday Recipe: Kale and Lentil Salad

Last Thursday, I had the pleasure of dining at Candle 79 in NYC. It was absolutely delicious and I plan on telling you more about it soon.

For dinner at Candle 79, I had the Grilled Kale Salad, it was out of this world.

Sunday for lunch, I decided to try to make my own version.

For starters the salad at the restaurant had lentils. I am not a huge fan of lentils, my poor Grandma tried for YEARS to get me to eat her lentil soup. The texture disgusted me so much I almost vomited. So, for years I have been avoiding  anything that had lentils it. This salad sounded too good to resist, and I was right.

Kale and Lentil Salad

I took some Kale, Lentils, thin cut green beans, and tomatoes and tried to make my own version. Mostly, I just wanted to eat a salad that had Kale…

I cooked the lentils and green beans according to the package directions. Then, I heated up some Kale in a pan with Safflower Oil and added the lentils and green beans just for a couple of minutes.

After I put the salad on the plate I added some chopped tomatoes and topped it with a balsamic dressing.

It was OK. A 2.5-3/5.  I did not care for the lentils. However, it appears that there are different types of lentils (I did not know this) and that could partially be why I did not care for them in my salad at home, but I thought they were delicious at the restaurant. Everything else was fine. Although, I don’t think the tomatoes were necessary.

 Overall, I am glad that I tried to recreate this recipe. I will keep trying it until I get my own version just right ( I don’t plan to use the EXACT same ingredients as the restaurant) because I love me some Kale.

Leave a Reply

Categories

