Posted by: hoppybottoms | July 8, 2011

A “Sprinkle” of Surprise in My Day

 Friday’s are going to be restaurant/vegan food review days on theveganweddingplanner blog 🙂

Last Monday, June 27, a new person joined the staff of my tiny little office.

She found out that my birthday was Tuesday and that I was vegan. On Thursday, she surprised me with vegan, Red Velvet Cupcakes f rom Sprinkles in NYC.

I had, of course, heard of Sprinkles before but somehow I never got there in all my dessert travels in NYC. Crumbs was my cupcake joint of choice in NY and a tiny little place called The Petite Cafe, was my pre-vegan cupcake joint of choice in NJ (if you are not vegan and you live anywhere near Nutley, NJ, you MUST go The Petite Cafe). 

She handed me the bag and inside were 6 LARGE Red Velvet Cupcakes. Immediately, I went on the Sprinkles website to see just what was in these so-called “vegan” cupcakes.  And if the red “Vs” on the cupcakes weren’t convincing enough, the ingredients were; They are legit. Check out the ingredients here

I had it for breakfast (see vegans can be completely unhealthy and irresponsible too!).

I bit in, the cake was moist and just the right amount of sweet, it tasted JUST like a regular red velvet cupcake. The icing was moist, sweet, rich, and had the same texture as any other frosting on a red velvet cupcake. I could not believe how good it was. I was in shock. The cupcake just melted in my mouth with every bite.

Later, I had someone else try one, and they said “Wow.” and “I taste coconut.”

I hadn’t really thought about it but when I had another one later the coconut taste was definitely there. It makes sense, since they are made with coconut oil, and it really makes it yummy. I would say that the coconut taste is probably the only thing that makes it a little different from a non-vegan red velvet cupcake.  For those who don’t like coconut, I wouldn’t let this stop you from trying it. It isn’t overwhelming.

I give this cupcake a 5/5 on the vegan food ratings scale. I ate them for 4 days (I mean I am a pig and all, but they were huge and I couldn’t finish 5 in one day) and every day the cupcake tasted just as good as the day before.

Hats off to Sprinkles and thank you to my new co-worker!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

