Posted by: hoppybottoms | July 14, 2011

What’s in Your Water?: Tap v Bottle

It has been way too long since I have posted and I apologize!

People have been arguing since the beginning of time…or at least since the beginning of the great invention of bottled water- which is better: Tap or bottled water?

There are all sorts of arguments for and against tap water. Those who think that bottled water is better, usually feel this way because they assume that the water in the bottle must be filtered (and many will say it just plain ole’ tastes better).

Those who prefer or don’t mind tap water think that there is nothing wrong with it and it tastes just fine.

Much opinion is based on location, obviously, since some water is definitely better than others. All taps, were not created equally.

The same goes for bottled water; they are not all created equally.  Many or most or at least some are just tap water in a bottle. (One example is Aquafina. It is produced by the Pepsi Co and it is just local community water- you can decide if that is worth $1.50…)

There have been movies made, books written, and campaigns against bottled water for years. So why am I bringing it back, you ask??

Yesterday, I received my 2010 Water Quality Report in my mailbox. I just read through it, the most important fact I am taking away is that according to the report The United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) and my township are “concerned about lead…although most homes have very low levels of lead in their drinking water, some homes in the community have lead levels above the USEPA action level.” YIKES! 

This reminded me that last year there was a memo slipped under my door letting us know that the drinking water could have high levels of unsafe pollutants, or something to that effect. It made me very grateful for the fact that I do not drink tap water.

Clearly, my town has some issues to deal with…

The report gives contact information for water testing, to see if my apartment is indeed one of those homes with high lead levels in the water. Thanks, I guess.

Growing up on Long Island there were lots of rumors about the water being unhealthy and leading to comparatively increased levels of breast cancer in women on the island. Now, I don’t know if that still is or ever was true, but it was certainly enough to stick with me all of these years.

There was a time when I depended on bottled water. When my husband and I first moved in together, we were very broke (not much has changed in that department),  and we would search through the weekly circulars to find the cheapest pack of 24 or 30 water bottles.

At some point I realized that the amount of money and plastic we were wasting was absolutely ridiculous.  We decided to get a filter for our tap, it just made economic and environmental sense. Now, 3 apartments, and 5 years later we have a Brita Filter. I know people also question the effectiveness of the filter, but for me I wanted a cleaner taste and a little piece of mind.

Now, knowing what the specific problem with my community water is, I decided that I wanted to make sure I have made the right filtration choice. It seems that I have: read here (Livestrong) and here  (Lead Action News) for information about Brita’s effectiveness in removing lead from water

It isn’t perfect, but I’ll take it.

I mentioned that one of the reasons I decided to switch from bottled water was waste; and bottled water is definitely a big contributor to garbage in this country (and others). Please watch this video  and click on the accompanying links on the page to find out more about the consumerism, capitalism, and WASTE tied to bottled water. (this one is good too)

I almost always carry water with me; in a reusable bottle. I buy bottled water ONLY when I am in a bind. I will say, that I am still weary of public fountains and public tap water. I am OK with tap water at restaurants, maybe because I can’t see exactly where it comes from but other tap water, well I am not quite comfortable with yet. That’s why I bring my own filtered water with me! And you should, too!

If you haven’t already, get your local 2010 Water Quality Report. You can find more information about obtaining it here on the EPA website.

Don’t you want to know what you should be protecting yourself from?

Buy a reusable bottle!

Leave a Reply

Categories

