Posted by: hoppybottoms | July 20, 2011

“Naturally” Clean: Skin Care

I finally finished my face wash, this meant one and only one thing find a new animal friendly product to add to my earth friendly product collection.

I was shopping at Target when I remembered that I needed the face wash, and I was unsure if I was going to be able to find anything that fit my criteria in such an affordable store.  

I combed the shelves, passing over products that I knew couldn’t possibly be animal friendly. I looked at a few that I was unfamiliar with, they weren’t great either. But then, I saw it, a clear bottle with green writing (this is how companies like to indicate that a particular product is “earthy” – it usually works on me) from non other than, Neutrogena.

Neutrogena Naturals - Pure, natural skincare with real resultspicture from neutrogenanaturals.com

This new line of products, that I believe was just released this winter or spring is called Neotrogena Naturals. I was hesitant. It is easy to call yourself natural, and make yourself appear natural, but in all reality be filled with disgusting chemicals tested on animals.

I read over the ingredients- the first good sign – there were only 10 and they were clearly labeled. Second good sign- I could almost pronounce most of them! Wow!

Final good sign- the list labels where most of the ingredients were derived from: water, coconuts, palm kernel, white willow bark (this is the important one according to the bottle), and guar bean. All natural stuff.  The other two ingredients: fragrance and Sodium Benzoate are not plant derived.

The bottle also clearly states that the product is 90% natural and not tested on animals. Given that it was the price of a regular Neutrogena product and not outrageously priced like other “natural” products you might find, I decided to give it a go. I like staying within my budget and being conscious about what I am buying at the same time.

I love it! It feels good on my skin, it smells good, and I think it is doing what it is meant to do which is keep my priceless face clean 🙂

Today, I did a little more research on the product line. Starting on the Neutrogena Naturals website. There is a lot of really great information; Including a Q & A that answers my favorite question “Are these products vegan?”

The answer is: some are vegan, all are vegetarian, and none are tested on animals. Also, they use a lot of recycled materials for packaging. Thumbs up for me.

Of course, I didn’t stop at the Neutrogena website, it is their product after all!

No More Dirty Looks a website (and a book) dedicated to giving out information about beauty products and researching ridiculous claims about things being “natural” did their own research and review. They found that overall the products are natural, however, Neutrogena was shady in answering questions about fragrance and a couple of other ingredients. Their Verdict: Definitely cleaner than most, but not the cleanest and certainly not all natural.  You should read the review (and the rest of the stuff on their site, it is quite informative)!

Given what seems to be a high standard of ingredients and a thoughtful development of the product, I am going to continue using it. It is economical and earth friendly in a very realistic way. It is almost impossible to go “green” with everything but starting with being more conscientious about what you are buying and using on your body is a great big step in the right direction.

Personally, I can’t afford to spend a ton of money on products (like for instance $19 on vegan body wash– strange, not sure who would do that…maybe someone who had a giftcard?), it just isn’t in the cards for me. BUT I do want to be friendly to the earth, the animals, and most importantly my body. So, I am going to continue to search for products that are affordable and meet these criteria. Hey, I’ll take 90% Natural over 100% synthetic ANY DAY!  

So far, I have only tried the Purifying Facial Cleanser but at some point I would like to try the purifying pore scrub. And when I run out of my $9 Vegan lip balm (I only bought it because I had a gift card!) I may replenish with the Neutrogena Naturals lip balm. According to No More Dirty Looks the lip balm is 100% clean and natural. My only concern is that it has beeswax in it (exactly why I don’t use Burts Bees)- which according to the Neutrogena website comes from bees that were treated humanely- I will see how I feel when the time comes.

Try it out and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

Categories

