Posted by: hoppybottoms | September 1, 2011

Back from the Funny Farm!

Did you miss me? Sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile I have been out of my mind busy. But, I am back by popular demand (or by the demand of one friend who prefers to use my blog as a distraction from her school work).

On August 5th and 6th I visited the Farm Sanctuary in Watkins Glen, NY. There is also one in California.

The Farm Sanctuary has a simple mission: save abused, “downed,” and abandoned farm animals- don’t eat them.

This trip was a birthday gift from my very loving and absolutely non-vegan husband.

At the sanctuary visitors can actually go in the barn with animals. I hugged a cow, I pet a goat, I saw how big a turkey REALLY is, and how cute a piglet is, it was possibly the most amazing experience of my life.

This particular weekend at the Farm Sanctuary was the  Hoe Down, which is a weekend long event when visitors can camp on site, and attend workshops about factory farming, global warming, living vegan, and life on the farm. These were just a few of the presentations and workshops; for two full days, different people gave educational presentations. Food was served, everything was vegan. No animal products were allowed on the farm out of respect for the animals; awesome. Almost everyone was wearing shirts, shorts and sweatpants that said “vegan.” It was an unbelievable experience.

It cost $150/ a person but that price included three meals each day and a cocktail hour on Saturday. We were permitted to camp on the grounds and we had access to the farm, and all of the workshops. Also, free yoga both days.

Unfortunately, I only got to attend two workshops but you should check out the list of presenters and look them up, anyone would benefit from what these people have to say. Authors were also signing their books- I got Most Good, Least Harm: A Simple Principle for a Better World by Zoe Weil.

Honestly, it felt so wonderful to be in a place where everyone was as respectful of life and living as I was (many of them even more so). There were also vegetarians who attended and I happened to bring 3 carnivores with me (although all animal lovers)…they just had to deal with it. And I think that they would all say that I had a good time.

I will say that some of the food that was provided was sub-par. Some stuff was delicious but a couple of the meals just didn’t cut it. One thing they served for breakfast was Amande yogurt with granola and fruit on the side. I have enjoyed Amande before but it was a reminder of how good it really is. Even the non-vegans in my crew enjoyed it. It is definitely my favorite yogurt substitute…try it (so far I have only been able to find it at Whole Foods)!

I wish that I lived closer to the farm because I would go there frequently to volunteer. My plan is to go back in November to celebrate (NOT EAT) turkeys. Here is the information about this event (which can be found on the Events page of their website)

November 19, 2011 CA Celebration FOR the Turkeys
November 20, 2011 NY Celebration FOR the Turkeys
At Farm Sanctuary’s annual Celebration FOR the Turkeys at our New York and California Shelters, guests are invited to visit with cows, pigs, chickens, and other rescued residents and participate in our beloved Feeding of the Turkeys ceremony, where turkeys are offered a feast of pumpkin pie, stuffed squash and cranberries. Guests on both coasts will also indulge in a delectable vegan holiday meal of their own and be inspired by presentations from special guests. Stay tuned for more details and registration information

There is also going to be a conference in Washington DC about factory farming and the environment. It is the last weekend in October and truthfully, if I could find a couple of people to go with, I would 100% do it…any takers?

Now, I am going to show you some pictures. If these don’t melt your heart, you clearly have no soul.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Sorry, I can’t get my hyperlinks to work. But if you want more info about anything use google (or ask me)!

I would love to plan a group trip back…

Or volunteer with their NYC chapter reaching out to people, which I may contact them about soon.

 

Hopefully, I will be back to writing a little more regularly…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

