Posted by: hoppybottoms | October 4, 2011

Portobello Mushroom Burgers- Yum!

Prior to my veganism I was not a fan of mushrooms. However, once I changed my diet I decided that it was time to give them another try. I slowly started incorporating them; I don’t love ’em, but I’ll eat ’em.

One of the first recipes I tried was Dijon Portobello Steaks. They were OK, I didn’t quite get the recipe right but I was happy to try something new.

Since then, I have heard a lot about Portobello Mushroom Burgers in general. Sometimes, at work, I order from a vegan deli and they have a Portobello burger that my co-worker just LOVES. Recently, I went out to eat with my Grandma at Zen Palate (so-so) and she ordered a Portobello burger because she had heard a lot about them. A few weeks ago I went to another vegan/organic restaurant with my friend Marisa and she tried a Portobello burger- her review wasn’t great, I think the restaurant made it crunchy instead of juicy like a burger (the food I had there was really good).

So, I decided one day that I would try the burger from the vegan deli by my job. My co-worker honestly can’t get enough of it, so I thought, “Why not?” It was SOOOOOO yummy! So, I decided to try my hand in my own mushroom burger.

 Kelly’s Poppin’ Portobello Mushroom Burger Bonanza

Ingredients:

  • 2 Portobello Mushroom caps
  • Balsamic vinaigrette
  • Soy Sauce
  • Oregano
  • Garlic powder
  • crushed red pepper

ast night I put the mushrooms in a bowl and covered them with the vinaigrette. First I turned them over and filled the inside with the vinaigrette and let it sit for a few minutes. then I turned it over put poured a little more of the vinaigrette on top and a little soy sauce, then sprinkled the oregano, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper (very small amount). I don’t measure I just eye-ball many times (most times) that works against me.

I let it sit for a few minutes. Then I put the mushrooms in a ziplock bag, and dumped the marinade in the bag. I squeezed all the air out and put the bag in the refrigerator over night.

Today, when I got home I sautéed some peppers in olive oil, defrosted a whole wheat english muffin, and grilled some tempeh bacon.

I put the mushrooms on the Foreman grill and let them cook for about 5-10 minutes until they were pretty easy to get a fork through.

Then I put the mushroom on the English muffin, added the pre-cooked bacon, Daiya cheese and peppers on top, put the top of the English muffin on and grilled for another 5-8 minutes. I love the Foreman grill it does all of this so quickly and evenly! The only downside was that the vinaigrette leaked (expected) and when I put the English muffin on the grill it got a little drenched (poorly planned), but it still grilled and tasted great.

It was delicious! Next time, I will use a little less vinaigrette but overall I couldn’t be happier that I did this all by myself! It really does have the meati-ness texture and bite (ew) of a burger without the meaty taste. But it is incredibly hearty- very filling.

The side dishes: Collard greens, kale, swiss chard and butternut squash with a little cinnamon sugar.

To make the butternut squash: I buy it fresh (not frozen) but pre cubed. I put it in a little mixture of olive oil and cinnamon sugar and mix it around. Then I heat it on a cookie sheet for 20-30 minutes at about 400 degrees. SO GOOD! It is myhealthier way of replacing french fries. Although, occasionally I will probably make some potatoes to go along with this meal.

So glad I can add this to my list of homemade deliciousness.

Nighty, night!

Leave a Reply

Categories

