Posted by: hoppybottoms | January 25, 2013

Wedding Planning is Fun but Baby Planning is Way Better!

On November 10, 2012, I gave birth to the most beautiful baby girl with the most spectacular head of hair. It was the greatest moment of my life (and also the most physically demanding thing I had ever done). Having a baby is amazing, exhausting and amazing. The planner in me struggles with the fact that newborns don’t have schedules or at least not convenient schedules (i.e. waking up at 3am every morning to nurse). I will say, however, that preparing for baby can be outrageously fun. I became best friend with Amazon, Babies R’ Us , and any website that reviewed baby products. My husband and I had to make a lot of decisions about how we wanted to parent our newborn/infant (very different from the kind of parenting that will be required in years to come): breastfeed or formula feed; disposable or cloth diapers; bassinet or crib; so many decisions.

There were so many things to consider, for instance… where are we going to fit any of these things in our 1 bedroom apartment? A lot of time was spent making storage spaces in crevices and measuring to make sure things would fit. I am surprised that our apartment has not sunk into the ground or exploded given the amount of stuff (furniture, clothes, toys, books, etc) we have managed to cram in our small space. Our bed literally sinks; we put it on risers to store things underneath but it is king sized and we couldn’t put a riser in the middle so sometimes we just roll into each other. This was particularly fun when I was 9 months pregnant. The things we do for our children…

In making these decisions the vegan/environmentally conscious side of me thought most decisions were quite obvious; organic everything, reusable everything, natural everything. Then a funny thing happened: I saw the prices. Unfortunately, my bank account made me rethink some of my decisions and made me realize that the best thing to do is be a minimalist; but that so isn’t me (I really want to be but I’m not there yet). So, I had to give in and buy things that may not have been as environmentally friendly as I had hoped. I try, but not everything in my life or baby Lily’s life is organic and that is OK. My husband and I try really hard (he does so with my nudging) to minimize the amount of waste we create and in turn that sometimes saves us money. In the end I realized that baby shopping is fun but the reality is there is no perfect way to prepare or care for an infant. My posts for a while will be about my experience making decisions preparing for the then unnamed baby’s arrival and my experience with those decisions.

Topics to be discussed:

Disposable vs Cloth Diapers – We went with cloth, a decision that was ultimately made by Steve, oddly enough. Great environmentally and on the bank account.

Breast vs Bottle (and all variations) – I started just nursing but as with a birth plan sometimes things just change.

Crib vs Bassinet – when you have a 1 bedroom apartment you wish that a bassinet could be used for more than a few months.

What type of breast pump to buy – I literally researched for 3 hours and still felt like I could make a terrible decision.

…and so much more.

Not being a minimalist, I bought a book to pick up some tips on being cash and eco conscience…trust me I see the irony in that. The book The Eco-nomical Baby Guide: Down-to-Earth Ways for Parents to Save Money and the Planet, did have some great tips. You might want to pick it up or if you want you can borrow mine 🙂

The Eco-nomical Baby Guide

My next post will be about diapers. I love cloth diapers so much I am thinking about becoming a consultant, who even knew there was such a thing?!

I’m glad to be back doing this blogging thing. If you have questions about anything related to eco-friendly babies on a budget, pregnancy, vegan babies (she won’t be vegan), etc. Please post a comment!

Responses

  1. Great stuff! You sure do sound like a loving, caring, and intellegent mother. That husband of yours sounds like a real catch as well. I am sure he as well as everyone else is happy to once again be reading your blogs 🙂

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to the upcoming ones. Everything baby seems soooo expensive!

    • Well, it can be expensive but it doesn’t have to be unmanageable (at least not with an infant!).


Leave a Reply

Categories

